Begin Main Content Area
Media > Health > Details


Wolf Administration Recognizes Emergency Medical Services Award Recipients

Manheim, PA - The Wolf Administration last evening joined the Pennsylvania Emergency Health Services Council in recognizing individuals, groups and organizations for their commitment and dedication to delivering the highest quality of pre-hospital medical care available to Pennsylvanians.

“Our first responders are on the frontlines of helping Pennsylvanians during a time of need,” Secretary of Health Dr. Rachel Levine said. “These award recipients are an example of the fantastic public servants in Pennsylvania who dedicate their lives to helping others and ensuring they receive the best care possible. The Wolf Administration is committed to ensuring emergency medical service providers have the resources they need to assist Pennsylvanians.”

The award recipients were announced Thursday at the 42st annual Pennsylvania Emergency Medical Services Conference, held at the Spooky Nook Sports Complex in Manheim. Award categories include clinical performance, education, communications, outstanding system contributions, innovation and organization-level operations. The 2019 award recipients are:

  • ALS Practitioner of the Year – Amanda Rosito, Penn State Health Life Lion, Dauphin County;

  • BLS Practitioner of the Year – Richard Strous, Old Lycoming Twp. Volunteer Fire Company, Lycoming County;

  • EMS Educator of the Year – Brian Focht, Willow Grove and Horsham Fire Companies, Montgomery County;

  • EMS Communications Award – Sara Stauffer and Emily Gallagher, Montgomery County;

  • Amanda Wertz Memorial EMS for Children Award – Kay-Ella Bleecher, York County;

  • David J. Lindstrom EMS Innovation Award – Michael Fitzgibbons, Susquehanna Valley EMS, Lancaster County:

  • Dr. George Moerkirk Memorial Contribution to EMS Award – Patrick Shoop, FAME EMS, Mifflin County;

  • Rescue Service of the Year – Trevose Fire Company, Bucks County;

  • EMS Agency of the Year (Large Volume Division) – Greater Pittston Regional Ambulance, Luzerne County; and

  • EMS Agency of the Year (Small Volume Division) – Washington Fire Company Community Ambulance, Schuylkill County.

For more information on Emergency Medical Services, visit the Department of Health website at or follow us on Facebook and Twitter.

MEDIA CONTACT: Nate Wardle, 717-787-1783 or

# # #

Share This