Begin Main Content Area

Department of Education, Department of Military and Veterans Affairs Announce New Veteran-Friendly Policy

05/23/2016

Harrisburg, PA - Secretary of Education Pedro A. Rivera and Acting Adjutant General Tony Carrelli today announced a new policy that moves veterans, active military personnel, and their spouses to the front of the line when applying for a teacher license.

The officials were joined by Rep. Kristin Phillips-Hill (R-York) and Rep. Pam DeLissio (D-Philadelphia/Montgomery), who are leading a bipartisan effort to codify the new policy in law. The lawmakers’ House Bill 2078 was passed by the House Education Committee Monday morning.

Under the new policy, which took effect this month, applications for teacher certification from veterans, military members, and their spouses will receive expedited service and a reduced fee. This new policy will help military, veterans, and spouses who were previously certified in the state when they return to Pennsylvania after serving elsewhere, and those applying for certification for the first time.

“This policy will ease and accelerate the transition for our veterans, military members, and their spouses when they head back into Pennsylvania schools,” Rivera said. “These educators bring tremendous experience and energy into the classroom, and will be an asset in our education community.”

“What this program does is rightfully give those who have raised their right hand and taken an oath to serve our country and their spouses who have sacrificed much, a pass to the front of the line when applying for educator certification in Pennsylvania,” Carrelli said. “By doing this, a military family planning a change of station or deciding where to settle down when they leave the service, have one less thing to worry about or be in flux for an extended period of time.”

Rivera said Phillips-Hill brought the idea to PDE after a constituent shared her experience of re-applying for her teacher’s license when returning to Pennsylvania after her husband retired from the U.S. Marine Corps. Staff in the Office of Postsecondary and Higher Education worked to put the policy in place over the past year.

In order to qualify a veteran is an individual who served at least 180 days of active duty, other than for training, or was discharged after serving 30 days due to a service-connected disability in the US Armed Forces and was discharged or released from active duty under honorable conditions.

Applicants must also meet Pennsylvania certification requirements.

Military, veteran and spouse applicants can apply for the desired certification using the online Teacher Information Management System, TIMS.

  • Complete the online application.

  • Send in any required proof documents listed on the coversheet and your proof of service document(s):

    • Active duty members – photocopy of military orders assigning duty station

    • Active duty spouse – photocopy of military orders assigning duty station and a photocopy of your marriage license

    • Veterans – photocopy of DD form 214 with Discharge under Circumstances other than Dishonorable

    • Veteran spouse/surviving spouse – photocopy of DD form 214 with Discharge under Circumstances other than Dishonorable and a photocopy of your marriage license

  • Select the money order option. Send a money order in the amount of $35 with the TIMS application coversheet.

More information is available at www.education.pa.gov.

MEDIA CONTACT: Nicole Reigelman, PDE - 717-783-9802; Joan Nissley, DMVA - 717-861-8720

# # #

Share This