Begin Main Content Area
Media > PEMA > Details

Wolf Administration Achieves National Accreditation in Emergency Management


August 25, 2022

Wolf Administration Achieves National Accreditation in Emergency Management

Harrisburg, PA – The Wolf Administration today announced that the commonwealth has again received national accreditation by the Emergency Management Accreditation Program (EMAP) Commission, a distinction maintained since the first accreditation was achieved in 2005.

"The accreditation process is not an easy one, but achieving this recognition is a testament to the dedication of PEMA staff, as well as our state agency partners who not only contributed to the commonwealth's success in the EMAP process, but also work with our agency every day to prepare for, respond to, and recover from incidents across the state," said PEMA Director Randy Padfield.

EMAP is a voluntary accreditation process for state, territorial and local government programs that coordinate preparedness and response activities for all disasters. To achieve accreditation status, PEMA had to document compliance with the national Emergency Management Standard accreditation standards.

The national standards consist of:

  • Program management, administration and finance, and laws and authorities;
  • Hazard identification, risk assessment and consequence analysis;
  • Hazard mitigation;
  • Prevention;
  • Operational planning and procedures;
  • Incident management;
  • Resource management, mutual aid and logistics;
  • Communications and warning;
  • Facilities;
  • Training;
  • Exercises, evaluations and corrective action; and
  • Emergency public education and information

PEMA was required to demonstrate, through program assessment, documentation and onsite visits from an independent peer assessment and verification team, that its emergency management program meets these national standards. 

The emergency management program uses the accreditation to prove the capabilities of their disaster preparedness and response systems. Accreditation is valid for five years and the program must maintain compliance with the Emergency Management Standard and is reassessed to maintain accredited status.

MEDIA CONTACT: L. Paul Vezzetti –

# # #

Share This