Begin Main Content Area

 PA.Media.BreadCrumbs - MediaBreadCrumbs



​The 16th Class of Waterways Conservation Officers graduated during ceremonies at the Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission’s Harrisburg Headquarters September 13.

For the 10 members of the class, the ceremonies marked the completion of a course of training that began more than one year ago.  The officers first completed Municipal Police Office Training, provided by the Pennsylvania State Police, before entering special training at the Commission's H.R. Stackhouse School of Fishery Conservation and Watercraft Safety.  In addition to classroom instruction on subjects as diverse as fish recognition, water pollution investigation, public speaking, standard operating procedures and reptile and amphibian identification, the officers completed field training exercises with experienced waterways conservation officers.

Pennsylvania Supreme Court Justice Michael J. Eakin administered the constitutional oath of office to the new officers.  Sergeant Byron L. Locke of the Pennsylvania State Police Northwest Training Academy provided the keynote address.  Vincent D. Dick, Jr. responded on behalf of the graduating class.  WCO Dick’s message was followed by presentation of diplomas and credentials by William Sabatose, President of the Commission, and Peter A. Colangelo, Executive Director.

The newly graduated officers now join the Commission’s law enforcement arm, comprised of some 100 Waterways Conservation Officers and 240 deputies.

The graduates, their hometown, any awards earned during training and their patrol assignments follow:

​Name ​Hometown ​Award(s) ​Assignment
Douglas L. Deppen Halifax Public Speaking Southcentral Regional Office
Vincent C. Dick, Jr. Mt. Carmel Most Improved Shooter N. Montgomery County
Lawrence P. Furlong Port Vue Leadership S. Allegheny County
Emmett M. Kyler III Montgomery Reptile & Amphibian ID & BUI Enforcement Beaver County
Thomas J. McMann Tyrone Top Shooter Cumberland County​
Anthony J. Quarracino Huntingdon Edward W. Manhart Academic Achievement Award Southcentral Regional Office
Matthew J. Sodmont Patton Teamwork N. York County
Matthew J. Visosky Erie Physical Fitness Delaware County
Michael P. Walsh Smithfield Leadership P​otter County
Chad A. Woleslagle​ Shippensburg Leadership Southcentral Regional Office

 Content Editor

 PA.AgencyPortal.Media - MediaPageTitle