Begin Main Content Area
Media > DEP > Details

Wolf Administration Awards Nearly 160 County and Municipal Governments Funding for Waste and Recycling Programs


Harrisburg, PA – Nearly 160 county and municipal governments will be getting a boost to their recycling and leaf-collection programs this year, thanks to $30.5 million in Recycling Development and Implementation Grants from the Wolf Administration. 

Grants were awarded to 157 county and municipal governments for recycling collections and education, as well as leaf litter pickup.

“These grants help bolster recycling in communities all over Pennsylvania and reduce the amount of waste going into our landfills,” said DEP Secretary Patrick McDonnell. “Whether it’s from increased education for residents or an entire facility for sorting recyclables, these grants are making a difference.”

Many of the grants are for community leaf collection programs. Leaf litter cannot be sent to landfills, and many municipalities prohibit open burning.

“Composting leaf waste from residential areas is safer and more environmentally friendly than burning leaves, which causes air pollution,” McDonnell said.

Pennsylvanians recycle approximately 6 million tons of materials per year. These materials are reintroduced into the manufacturing process, saving valuable resources, creating jobs and other economic benefits, and realizing vital environmental benefits. 
Based on the 2017 Recycling Economic Impact Study, over 66,000 people are employed directly in the recycling marketplace, while nearly 110,000 others work via indirect or induced recycling-related jobs.  Recycling adds $22.6 billion to Pennsylvania’s state product. Recycling also is important to the commonwealth’s climate-change initiatives: nearly 10 million metric tons of carbon dioxide emissions are avoided each year. This is equivalent to removing 2.15 million cars (or approximately 25%) from Pennsylvania’s roads annually.
Through the grant program, municipalities and counties in Pennsylvania are eligible for up to 90 % funding of approved recycling program costs. Municipalities that are designated financially distressed under the Financial Distressed Communities Act are eligible to receive funding for an additional 10 % of approved costs. Grants were also awarded based on programs designed to meet current market demands for recyclable goods.

Examples of eligible projects include operating leaf compost facilities, developing web-based programs on recycling for consumers, expanding recycling processing facilities, installing data collection systems on recycling vehicles, continuing and creating curbside recycling programs, and developing educational materials to encourage residents to properly recycle.

The grants align with Governor Wolf’s Litter Action Plan, an initiative that seeks to not only clean up litter across the commonwealth, but to prevent littering from taking place.

The Litter Action Plan was developed after a comprehensive state study by DEP and the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT) with a focus on changing littering behavior. 

In addition to examples and suggestions for the General Assembly, local governments, businesses, and the public, the study report outlined 16 recommendations for the commonwealth, including DEP’s current work to provide convenient and affordable access to waste disposal and recycling services in rural areas of Pennsylvania where trash collection and recycling services are currently not economically feasible. DEP announces the grants under Section 902 of the Municipal Waste Planning, Recycling and Waste Reduction Act.

The awardees and grant amounts are listed below by county:                                                          

Allegheny County


Bridgeville Borough


Fox Chapel Borough


Penn Hills Municipality


West Mifflin Borough


Crafton Borough


Elizabeth Township


Pittsburgh City


Armstrong County

Armstrong County


Beaver County


Beaver County


Aliquippa City


Beaver Borough


Rochester Township


Patterson Township


Berks County


Wyomissing Borough


Muhlenberg Township


Sinking Spring Borough


Maidencreek Township


Heidelberg Township


Bernville Borough


Kenhorst Borough


Laureldale Borough


Mohnton Borough


Spring Township


Exeter Township


Berks County Solid Waste Authority


Robesonia Borough


Reading City


Blair County


Intermunicipal Relations Committee


Altoona City


Logan Township


Bucks County


Lower Makefield Township


Quakertown Borough


Middletown Township


Butler County


Mars Borough


Cranberry Township


Cambria County


Cambria County Solid Waste Authority


Cameron County


Cameron County


Carbon County


Towamensing Township


Centre County


Centre County


Spring Township


State College Borough


Bellefonte Borough


Harris Township


Snow Shoe Township


Centre Hall Borough


Philipsburg Borough


Millheim Borough


Clearfield County


Curwensville Borough


Clearfield Borough


Lawrence Township


Clinton County


Clinton County Solid Waste Authority


Chester County


Caln Township


Chester County Solid Waste Authority


Upper Uwchlan Township


Phoenixville Borough


East Fallowfield Township


Southeastern Chester County Refuse Authority


South Coatesville Borough


Modena Borough


Columbia County


Berwick Borough


Cumberland County


Hampden Township


Middlesex Township


Cumberland County


Camp Hill Borough


Dauphin County


Lower Paxton Township


Hummelstown Borough


Middletown Borough


Harrisburg City


Delaware County


Springfield Township


Marple Township


Haverford Township


Folcroft Borough


Elk County


Ridgway Borough


Elk County


Erie County


Millcreek Township


Erie City


Edinboro Borough


Fairview Township


Erie County


Fayette County


North Union Township


Uniontown City


German Township


Connellsville City


Washington Township


Fayette County


Indiana County


Indiana County Solid Waste Authority


Jefferson County


Jefferson County Solid Waste Authority


Lackawanna County


Scranton City


Lackawanna County


Blakely Borough


Moosic Borough


Jessup Borough


Lancaster County


Lancaster City


East Petersburg Borough


Mount Joy Borough


West Earl Township


Lebanon County


Greater Lebanon Refuse Authority


North Lebanon Township


Lebanon City


Union Township


South Lebanon Township


Lehigh County


Allentown City


Coplay Borough


Salisbury Township


Emmaus Borough


Fountain Hill Borough


Whitehall Township


Luzerne County


Dallas Area Municipal Authority


West Wyoming Borough


Wyoming Borough


Exeter Borough


Duryea Borough


Lycoming County


Lycoming County


South Williamsport Borough


McKean County


Bradford City


Mercer County


Greenville Borough


Monroe County


Chestnuthill Township


Polk Township


Oak Grove Compost Processing


Monroe County Municipal Waste Management Authority


Smithfield Township


Coolbaugh Township


East Stroudsburg Borough


Montgomery County


Lower Moreland Township


Bridgeport Borough


Jenkintown Borough


Upper Dublin Township


Hatboro Borough


Whitemarsh Township


Abington Township


Upper Moreland Township


Plymouth Township


Northampton County


Upper Nazareth Township


First Regional Compost Authority


Bethlehem City


Forks Township


Palmer Township


Wilson Borough


Nazareth Borough


Northumberland County


Sunbury Municipal Authority


Shamokin City


Coal Township


Milton Borough


Philadelphia County


Philadelphia City


Pike County


Pike County


Snyder County


Snyder County


Tioga County


Mansfield Borough


Union County


Union County


Venago County


Venago County


Wayne County


Wayne County


Westmoreland County


Greensburg City


York County


West York Borough


Fairview Township


Red Lion Borough


Hanover Borough


Dallastown Borough


North Hopewell Township


MEDIA CONTACT: Jamar Thrasher,, 717-319-1758
# # #

Share This