Begin Main Content Area

 PA.Media.BreadCrumbs - MediaBreadCrumbs

Media > PA State Police > Details


Pennsylvania State Police Welcomes 98 New Troopers


September 6, 2019

Harrisburg, PA –Commissioner Robert Evanchick announced today that 98 cadets graduated from the State Police Academy in Hershey and have been assigned to troops across the commonwealth. The men and women represent the 156th graduating cadet class.

The ceremony at the Scottish Rite Cathedral marked the culmination of 28 weeks of classroom and physical training. Cadet Zachary M. McKeehan, of Huntingdon County, spoke on behalf of the graduating class.

Seven cadets received special awards and recognition at the ceremony:

  • The American Legion Award, presented to the most outstanding cadet in recognition of all-around academic, physical, ethical, and moral qualifications: Zachary M. McKeehan, Huntingdon County and Richard E Whitehouse Jr., Lancaster County
  • The Colonel Ronald L. Sharpe Award, presented to the cadet who most exemplifies the qualities of leadership: Jeffrey J. Miller, Luzerne County
  • The Colonel John K. Schafer Award, presented to the cadet who achieved the highest combined score on a series of physical skills tests: Stephen M. Fullwood, Allegheny County
  • The Commissioner Daniel F. Dunn Award, presented to the cadet who earned the highest level of academic achievement in the class: Sean T. Dougherty, Delaware County
  • The Colonel Paul J. Chylak Award, presented to the cadet who demonstrated the highest proficiency in driver safety training: Brandon D. Marshall, Butler County
  • The Sergeant Charles B. Gesford Award, presented to the cadet who scored the highest on the department's pistol qualification course: Steve R. Ross, Lawrence County

The graduates have been assigned to the following troops:

Troop B, Belle Vernon

Joshua M. Alberts of Allegheny County

Bradley A. Kelly of Allegheny County

Troop B, Uniontown

Andrew C. Barney of Erie County

Thomas A. Hisker of Westmoreland County

Paul J. Narcum Jr. of Luzerne County

Robert P. Rawley of Montgomery County

Steve R. Ross of Lawrence County

Troop B, Washington

Jonathan T.F. Baird of Allegheny County

Stephen M. Fullwood of Allegheny County

Brandon D. Marshall of Butler County

Troop B, Waynesburg

Ryan R. Sverchek of Schuylkill County

Troop C, Clarion

David G. McBride of Lawrence County

Troop C, Clearfield

Lindsey A. Thompson of Honolulu, Hawaii

Troop C, Lewis Run

Matthew D. Lindholm of Jefferson County

Michael J. Reese of Westmoreland County

Carlos R. Sanchez of Dauphin County

Eric B. Swartz of Monongalia County, West Virginia

Troop C, Punxsutawney

Alex R. Burkett of Clearfield County

Clinton L. Deemer of Butler County

Troop D, Kittanning

Chad K. Krumpe of Butler County

Troop E, Corry

Adam B. Kalivoda of Erie County

Troop E, Meadville

Jacob W. Foley of Chautauqua County

Troop F, Coudersport

Philip A. Corrado of Luzerne County

Francis J. Vanore of Philadelphia County

Troop F, Emporium

Mick J. Johnson of Warren County

Israel T. Moore of Providence County, Rhode Island

Troop F, Mansfield

Luke J. Handwerger of Potter County

Troop F, Milton

Tyler D. Arbogast of Snyder County

Richard W. Camerer of Clinton County

Troop F, Selinsgrove

Samuel L. Kuhns of Snyder County

Kevin M. Shields Jr. of Pike County

Troop G, Bedford

Avery S. Deskevich of Somerset County

William E. Green Jr. of Beaver County

Nathan D. Smith of Bradford County

Troop G, Huntingdon

Brian D. Morrow of Crawford County

Steven M. Potynski Jr. of Bucks County

Troop G, Lewistown

Gregory D. Kurtz of Huntingdon County

Ryan P. Ziegler of Northampton County

Troop G, Rockview

Shane R. Eichelberger of Bedford County

Troop H, Chambersburg

Joshua K. Dunkle of Delaware County

Nickolaus L. Marple of Tioga County

Jeffrey J. Miller of Luzerne County

Troop H, Gettysburg

Logan A. Howell of Adams County

Zachary C. Swartz of Butler County

Troop H, Lykens

James K. Salvo of Montgomery County

Troop H, Newport

Jason S. Elliott of York County

Troop J, Avondale

Tyler F. Ciccione of Chester County

Sean E. Dougherty of Delaware County

Tara E. Gassenmeyer of Chester County

Alexander Z. Rankovich of Carbon County

Simeon S. Schauman of Chautauqua County, New York

Jonathan W. Uren of Clearfield County

Troop J, Embreeville

Ian R. Hopkins of Monroe County

John J. Prentice of Centre County

Nicholas J. Salak of Westmoreland County

Aimee J. Yandrisevits of Berks County

Troop J, Lancaster

Steven A. Kase Jr. of Lancaster County

Jason R. Krause of Lancaster County

Ryan N. Waters of Delaware County

Richard E. Whitehouse of Lancaster County

Troop J, York

Steven E. Galbraith of Lebanon County

Thomas E. Kline of Dauphin County

David J. Linton of York County

John M. Sempa of Lackawanna County

Waylon J. Smith of Bradford County

Eric C. Whited of Luzerne County

Troop K, Media

Nayirrah Bellinger of Philadelphia County

Hunter J. Freeman of Philadelphia County

Joseph R. Garback of Delaware County

Joshua T. Hahn of Philadelphia County

Nicholas D. Mazza of Montgomery County

Vincent Trivarelli of Dauphin County

Troop K, Skippack

Lefter Kondili of Philadelphia County

Troop L, Jonestown

Stephen J. Stahl of York County

Troop M, Bethlehem

Michael J. Coleman of Northampton County

Taylor A. Dietrich of Lehigh County

Matthew Gill of Lehigh County

Peter G. Hamati-Attieh of Lehigh County

Bernard J. Popson of Luzerne County

Jason L. Witmer of York County

Troop M, Dublin

Anthony J. Carbone of Bucks County

Pawel Jelski of Bucks County

Troop M, Fogelsville

Charles A. Blesse of Schuylkill County

Anthony F. Desando Jr. of Lackawanna County

Troop N, Fern Ridge

Kevin M. Harry of Luzerne County

Troop N, Stroudsburg

Thomas B. Gallagher of Ulster County, New York

Zachary M. McKeehan of Huntingdon County

Joseph J. Perechinsky of Lackawanna County

Zachary L. Railing of Berks County

Troop P, Towanda

Ryan J. Joyce of Luzerne County

Stephen M. Lehner Jr. of Luzerne County

Gregory A. Myers of Centre County

Kyle G. Schiltz of Chester County

William E. Shreve of Butler County

Nathan L. Smith of Cambria County

Troop R, Blooming Grove

Michael L. Oplinger of Westmoreland County

Philip C. Semenza III of Luzerne County

Troop R, Gibson

Michael J. Maguire of Lackawanna County

For more information on the Pennsylvania State Police, visit To learn more about becoming a Pennsylvania State Trooper, visit

MEDIA CONTACT:  Ryan Tarkowski, 717-783-5556

# # #

 Content Editor

Cannot retrieve the URL specified in the Content Link property. For more assistance, contact your site administrator.

 PA.AgencyPortal.Media - MediaPageTitle